UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

Form 6-K

REPORT OF FOREIGN PRIVATE ISSUER

PURSUANT TO RULE 13a-16 OR 15d-16

UNDER THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

November 6, 2015

 

 

 

BHP BILLITON LIMITED   BHP BILLITON PLC
(ABN 49 004 028 077)   (REG. NO. 3196209)
(Exact name of Registrant as specified in its charter)   (Exact name of Registrant as specified in its charter)
VICTORIA, AUSTRALIA   ENGLAND AND WALES
(Jurisdiction of incorporation or organisation)   (Jurisdiction of incorporation or organisation)
171 COLLINS STREET, MELBOURNE,   NEATHOUSE PLACE, LONDON,
VICTORIA 3000 AUSTRALIA   UNITED KINGDOM
(Address of principal executive offices)   (Address of principal executive offices)

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant files or will file annual reports under cover of Form 20-F or Form 40-F:    x  Form 20-F     ¨  Form 40-F

Indicate by check mark if the registrant is submitting the Form 6-K in paper as permitted by Regulation S-T Rule 101(b)(1):  ¨

Indicate by check mark if the registrant is submitting the Form 6-K in paper as permitted by Regulation S-T Rule 101(b)(7):  ¨

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant by furnishing the information contained in this Form is also thereby furnishing the information to the Commission pursuant to Rule 12g3-2(b) under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934:    ¨  Yes    x  No

If “Yes” is marked, indicate below the file number assigned to the registrant in connection with Rule 12g3-2(b): n/a

 

 

 


LOGO

NEWS RELEASE

 

Release Time

   IMMEDIATE

Date

   6 November 2015

Number

   24/15

INCIDENT AT SAMARCO

BHP Billiton understands that a serious incident has occurred at Samarco Mineração S.A’s iron ore operation in Minas Gerais, Brazil. BHP Billiton holds a 50% interest in that entity. Samarco Mineração S.A is the operator.

BHP Billiton is concerned for the safety of employees and the local community.

We are in the process of obtaining more details from Samarco Mineração S.A.

We will provide updated information on the situation as soon as we are in a position to do so.


Media Relations   Investor Relations
 
Australia   Australia
 
Emily Perry   Tara Dines
Tel: +61 3 9609 2800 Mobile: +61 477 325 803   Tel: +61 3 9609 2222 Mobile: +61 499 249 005
email: Emily.Perry@bhpbilliton.com   email: Tara.Dines@bhpbilliton.com
 
Paul Hitchins   Andrew Gunn
Tel: + 61 3 9609 2592 Mobile: + 61 419 315 001   Tel: +61 3 9609 3575 Mobile: +61 402 087 354
email: Paul.Hitchins@bhpbilliton.com   email: Andrew.Gunn@bhpbilliton.com
 
Eleanor Nichols   United Kingdom and South Africa
Tel: +61 3 9609 2360 Mobile: +61 407 064 748  
email: Eleanor.Nichols@bhpbilliton.com   Jonathan Price
  Tel: +44 20 7802 4131 Mobile: +44 7990 527 726
United Kingdom and Americas   email: Jonathan.H.Price@bhpbilliton.com
 
Ruban Yogarajah   Dean Simon
Tel: +44 20 7802 4033 Mobile: +44 7827 082 022   Tel: +44 20 7802 7461 Mobile: +44 7717 511 193
email: Ruban.Yogarajah@bhpbilliton.com   email: Dean.Simon@bhpbilliton.com
 
Jennifer White   Americas
Tel: +44 20 7802 7462 Mobile: +44 7827 253 764  
email: Jennifer.White@bhpbilliton.com   James Agar
  Tel: +1 212 310 1421 Mobile: +1 347 882 3011
  email: James.Agar@bhpbilliton.com
 
  Joseph Suarez
  Tel: +1 212 310 1422 Mobile: +1 646 400 3803
  email: Joseph.Suarez@bhpbilliton.com

 

BHP Billiton Limited ABN 49 004 028 077   BHP Billiton Plc Registration number 3196209
Registered in Australia   Registered in England and Wales
Registered Office: Level 16, 171 Collins Street   Registered Office: Neathouse Place
Melbourne Victoria 3000 Australia   London SW1V 1LH United Kingdom
Tel +61 1300 55 4757 Fax +61 3 9609 3015   Tel +44 20 7802 4000 Fax +44 20 7802 4111

Members of the BHP Billiton Group which is headquartered in Australia

 

LOGO

Follow us on social media


SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned, thereunto duly authorized.

 

      BHP Billiton Limited and BHP Billiton Plc
Date:   November 6, 2015   By:  

/s/ Rachel Agnew

    Name:   Rachel Agnew
    Title:   Company Secretary